Octo missae

The Octo missae contains eight Mass settings by the Antwerp composer Georges de la Hèle. This monumental work was the first musical work to be printed by the Officina Plantiniana, in 1578.

Outsized publication

In 1578, Christophe Plantin’s press produced its first musical work – and what a work it was! This massive volume – 55 by 40 cm – was big enough for all the singers in a choir. It contains the music for eight Mass settings: four of them for five voices, and two each for six and seven voices. 
 

Georges de la Hèle

The Antwerp-born composer Georges de la Hèle (1547-1586), under whose name the work appears, worked mainly for the Habsburgs in Spain and the Netherlands. This work is his main surviving achievement: the rest was lost in a fire in Madrid in 1734. The musical type was made by the Ghent craftsman Hendrik van den Keere, with whom Plantin often collaborated. This work is typical of the beautiful typography of Christophe Plantin’s press.
 

Quick-selling

This is the only copy in Flanders of this work. The paper that was used was originally intended for a different purpose: Philip II himself had it made for a musical work that was never printed. To be sure of covering the cost, Plantin asked De la Hèle to buy forty copies himself at a discounted price. However, the work sold better than expected...
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Octo missae

La 'Octo missae' est une messe de l’Anversois Georges de la Hèle. Cet ouvrage monumental est la première édition musicale sortant des presses de l’Officina Plantiniana en 1587.

Des dimensions énormes

La première impression de musique sort des presses de Christophe Plantin en 1587 déjà! Ce pavé de 55 cm sur 40 cm était assez grand pour être clairement vu par tous les chanteurs d’un chœur. Le recueil rassemble la musique de huit messes: quatre à cinq voix, deux à six voix et deux à sept voix. La musique est de grande qualité: il s’agit de quatre motets du grand compositeur Orlandus Lassus.
 

Georges de la Hèle

Le compositeur d’origine anversoise Georges de la Hèle (1547-1586), dont l’ensemble porte le nom, compose surtout pour les Habsbourg d'Espagne et des Pays-Bas. Cet ouvrage est son plus grand exploit conservé; le reste a disparu dans un incendie à Madrid en 1734. Les caractères musicaux étaient fabriqués par le Gantois Hendrik van den Keere, avec qui Plantin travaillait souvent. Cet ouvrage est emblématique de la magnifique typographie de l’imprimerie plantinienne.
 

De bonnes ventes

Cet exemplaire est l’unique en Flandre. Le papier utilisé devait initialement servir à un autre ouvrage: Philippe II l’avait fait fabriquer spécialement pour une publication musicale, finalement jamais réalisé. C’est certainement par souci d’économie que Plantin demanda à De la Hèle d’en acheter lui-même quarante exemplaires à un prix avantageux. L’ouvrage se vendait pourtant beaucoup mieux que prévu. 
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco