Unesco

There is just one museum on the UNESCO list. The Museum Plantin-Moretus. That is thanks to its combination of prestigious patrician mansion, centuries-old workshop and – for more than 125 years – outstanding museum. Plus a virtually intact business archive dating back to 1555.

One museum 

On the prestigious UNESCO World Heritage List there is just one museum: the Museum Plantin-Moretus. This is no accident, because this complex is unique. It includes a prestigious patrician mansion and the only equipped printing and publishing works still extant from the 16th century. The Museum itself has now had a history of over 125 years. On 15 July 2005 the Museum Plantin-Moretus/Print Cabinet was entered as the ‘Plantin-Moretus House-Workshops-Museum Complex’ on the exclusive UNESCO World Heritage List.
 

A three-century-old business archive 

In 2002, the business archive of the Museum Plantin-Moretus was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. The Plantin-Moretus Archive is a virtually intact business archive covering the period from 1555 to 1876. A goldmine of information about European culture, the history of humanism, the Counter-Reformation, science and printing. In the 16th and 17th centuries printing and publishing played a prominent role in all these fields.
 

UNESCO list    

This recognition puts the Museum Plantin-Moretus in the same rank as the Pyramids in Egypt, the Palace of Versailles, the Acropolis in Athens, the Forum Romanum in Rome and other cultural sites on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Unesco

Un seul musée figure sur la liste de l’Unesco: le musée Plantin-Moretus. Grâce à la combinaison unique d’une prestigieuse maison de maître, d’un atelier ancestrale et d’un excellent musée, depuis plus de 125 ans. Sans oublier ses archives professionnelles pratiquement complètes remontant à 1555.

Un seul musée

Un seul musée a été placé par l’Unesco sur la prestigieuse liste du Patrimoine mondial: le musée Plantin-Moretus. Cette distinction ne doit rien au hasard car le musée recouvre en effet une magnifique maison de maître, et la seule imprimerie-maison d’éditions du 16e siècle complète. L’histoire même du musée a 125 ans. Le musée Plantin-Moretus/Cabinet des Estampes a été inscrit le 15 juillet 2005 comme ‘complexe logement-ateliers-musée Plantin-Moretus’ sur la liste exclusive du Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.
 

Trois siècles d’archives professionnelles

Les archives professionnelles du musée Plantin-Moretus ont été inscrites par l’Unesco sur la liste du Patrimoine mondial en 2002. Les archives Plantin-Moretus de la période 1555-1876 sont pratiquement intactes. Une mine d’or sur la culture européenne, sur l’histoire de l’humanisme, la Contre-Réforme, les sciences et l’imprimerie. L’imprimerie-maison d’éditions y jouait un röle prépondérant aux 16e et 17e siècles.
 

Liste de l’Unesco

Cette reconnaissance place le musée Plantin-Moretus au même rang que les Pyramides d'Egypte, le Palais de Versailles, l’Acropole à Athènes, le Forum Romain et d’autres sites culturels classés par l’Unesco au Patrimoine mondial.

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco