Jan I Moretus

Jan Moerentorf worked his way up from bookshop assistant to Plantin’s right-hand man. A polyglot and autodidact, he latinised his name as ‘Moretus’. After Plantin’s death in 1589, he ran the Officina Plantiniana until 1610. The printing business kept its position as the leading book supplier of the Counter Reformation.

After Christophe Plantin, the Moretus printing and publishing family took over at the helm of the Officina Plantiniana.

Jan Moerentorf entered Plantin’s employment at the age of fifteen, in around 1558. He worked his way up from bookshop assistant to Plantin’s right-hand man. Through self-study he mastered many languages: as well as his native Dutch, he knew French, Italian, Spanish and Latin. During Plantin’s stay in Leiden (1583-1585), he ran the Officina Plantiniana in Antwerp with his brother-in-law Franciscus Raphelengius. After Plantin’s death in 1589 he was the head of the business until 1610. Jan Moerentorf latinised his surname as ‘Moretus’.
 

Plantin's son-in-law and successor

Jan Moretus was already working for Plantin shortly after he started up his printing business. In 1570, he married Plantin’s second daughter, Martine. Moretus worked for nearly 32 years for Plantin, who rewarded him by leaving his printing works and bookshop to him.
 

Disputed will

Gillis Beys, who married Plantin’s daughter Madeleine (Magdalena) and ran his own publishing house in Paris, opposed his father-in-law’s decision. When he learned that Jan Moretus was the sole heir to the business, he petitioned for Plantin’s will to be annulled. He made a special trip to Antwerp and demanded his share of the Officina Plantiniana. Plantin’s widow and his friend and financier, the Antwerp merchant Luys Perez, mediated. In March 1590, the heirs came to an agreement: Jan Moretus and his wife got two-fifths of the business. After the death of Plantin’s widow, he would buy out the others who were awarded a share in the estate. This enabled the unity of Plantin’s publishing house to be preserved.
 

Plantin's privileges

As a safeguard against attempts by other publishers to get their hands on Plantin’s privileges, Jan Moretus sought a general privilege from the Council of Brabant and the Privy Council. He was granted this in 1591.
 

Motto

Jan Moretus’ motto was ratione recta. In a New Year’s greeting to his father-in-law on 1 January 1573, he explained that ‘Moretus’ referred to Morus, the Moorish king who followed the star of Bethlehem in search of the birthplace of Jesus. For him, this star symbolised reason (ratio).
 

Leading printer of the Counter-Reformation

Despite the frantic efforts of other Antwerp publishers, Jan Moretus managed to retain the ‘privileges’ or exclusive rights for the publication of lucrative liturgical works and successful Plantin editions.
 

Quality 

For Jan Moretus, printing quality was paramount. The key factors in achieving this were the use of high-quality paper, the fonts and illustrations, and the accuracy of the printed text. Theologians such as Franciscus Lucas in Douai ensured that the content of Moretus’ Bible editions was of a high quality. They contained fewer errors than the Bibles from the presses of the Vatican printing works itself.
 

Collaboration with artists

In terms of illustrations, Jan Moretus initially relied on collaboration with artists such as Maarten de Vos and Peeter vander Borcht. In 1600, a unique partnership was also formed with the print studio of Theodore Galle. This son of the renowned print publisher Filips Galle married Moretus’ daughter Catherine in 1598. Together with the other artists in his studio, he produced the engravings for Moretus’ editions. Galle reworked the engravings, printed them and signed them. This partnership between the Officina Plantiniana and the print studio of Theodore Galle and his descendants lasted until almost the end of the 17th century.
 

Jan I Moretus' editions
 

640 editions in 20 years

In the twenty years that Jan I Moretus was in charge of the Officina Plantiniana, he issued 640 editions – not including government publications.

Jan I Moretus’ editions, like those of his successors, mostly related to ‘serious’ subjects, and were largely written in Latin. Half of his editions were of a religious nature. Liturgical works and prayer books accounted for a fifth of his output.

The wide distribution of these works, their fame and the later specialisation by the Officina Plantiniana in the printing of purely liturgical works led to the erroneous notion that Jan Moretus only published work of this kind.

In fact, works on history and humanism and by classical authors were also an important part of his output. For instance, the twelve-volume church history of Cardinal Caesar Baronius, the Annales ecclesiastici, was one of the major successes of the Plantin publishing house.
 

Justus Lipsius

Justus Lipsius was the most famous humanist of the Netherlands in the second half of the 16th century. In 1592, he returned from Leiden and became professor of history at the University of Leuven. Jan Moretus printed a total of 62 works by Justus Lipsius, becoming his main printer. In addition to his editions of the Roman authors Tacitus and Seneca and his works on all aspects of Roman history, his philosophical and political works were especially influential.
 

The death of Jan I Moretus

Jan I Moretus died on 22 September 1610.

In the final months before his death, he wrote optimistically that he finally felt much better now that he had thrown out all medications and prescriptions from doctors. But it was no good: he died on 22 September 1610 and was buried in the Cathedral of Our Lady.

To avoid inheritance problems, Jan I Moretus and his wife Martine stipulated in their wills that the Officina Plantiniana had to remain a single entity come what may. This brought his sons, Jan II and Balthasar I, together at the head of the Plantin publishing house.
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Jan I Moretus

Initialement commis de librairie, Jan Moerentorf se hisse au rang de bras droit de Plantin. Il latinise son nom : ‘Moretus’. Moerentorf est polyglotte et autodidacte. A la mort de Plantin en 1589, il dirige l’Officina Plantiniana jusqu’en 1610. L’imprimerie conserve son rôle de principal fournisseur de livres de la Contre-Réforme. .

Après Christophe Plantin, l’Officina Plantiniana est dirigée par la dynastie d’imprimeurs et d’éditeurs Moretus.

Jan Moerentorf entre au service de Plantin à quinze ans, vers 1558. D’abord commis à la librairie, il se hisse au rang de bras droit de Plantin. C’est un autodidacte qui domine quantité de langues. Outre sa langue maternelle le néerlandais, il connaît le français, l’italien, l’espagnol et le latin. Lors du séjour de Plantin à Leyde (1583-1585), il dirige avec son beau-frère Franciscus Raphelengius l’Officina Plantiniana à Anvers. A la mort de Plantin en 1589, il dirige l’entreprise plantinienne jusqu’en à 1610. Jan Moerentorf latine son nom : ‘Moretus’.

 

Gendre et successeur de Plantin

Jan Moretus entre au service de Plantin peu après l’ouverture de l’imprimerie. Il épouse en 1570 la deuxième fille de Plantin, Martine. Jan Moretus travaille près de 32 ans pour Plantin, qui lui lègue son imprimerie et sa librairie en signe de gratitude. 
 

Une question d’héritage

Gillis Beys qui a épousé Madeleine, une autre fille de Plantin, et tient sa propre imprimerie à Paris, s’oppose à la décision de son beau-père. Lorsqu’il apprend que seul Jan Moretus hérite de l’entreprise, il exige l’annulation du testament de Plantin. Il vient spécialement à Anvers pour réclamer sa part de l’Officina Plantiniana. La veuve et l’ami et financier de Plantin, le négociant anversois Luys Perez, interviennent comme médiateurs. Les héritiers parviennent en mars 1590 à un accord : Jan Moretus et son épouse obtiennent deux tiers de l’entreprise, après quoi le gendre rachètera à la mort de la veuve Plantin la part des autres héritiers. L’unité de la maison plantinienne est ainsi préservée. 
 

Privilèges plantiniens

Pour se protéger d’autres éditeurs, qui tentent de mettre main basse sur les privilèges plantiniens, Jan Moretus dépose une demande de privilèges générale auprès du Conseil du Bravant et du Conseil Privé. Les privilèges lui sont accordés en 1591.
 

Devise

Jan Moretus prend pour devise ratione recta. Dans des vœux de Nouvel An à son gendre datés du 1er janvier 1573 , il explique à son gendre que Moretus est dérivé de morus, le roi Maure qui suivit l’étoile de Bethléem pour trouver le lieu de naissance de Jésus. Cette étoile symbolise pour lui la raison (ratio).
 

Le plus grand imprimeur de la Contre-Réforme 

En dépit des tentatives opiniâtres d’autres éditeurs anversois, Jan Moretus conserve les privilèges d’édition d’ouvrages liturgiques – très lucratifs – et de livres de Plantin qui connaissent de grands succès. 
 

Qualité

Jan Moretus place la qualité de ses travaux d’impression au-dessus de tout. Cette qualité est pour lui déterminée par l’utilisation d’un papier de haute qualité, le choix des caractères et des illustrations et la correction des textes imprimés. Des théologiens comme Franciscus Lucas à Douai se chargent de la qualité des textes bibliques. Les bibles de Moretus contiennent de fait moins de fautes que celles qui sortent des presses du Vatican. 
 

Collaboration avec des artistes

En matière d’illustrations, Jan Moretus collabore initialement avec des graveurs comme Maarten de Vos et Peeter vander Borcht. Une collaboration unique voit surtout le jour avec l’atelier de gravure de Theodore Galle vers 1600. Ce fils du célèbre éditeur de gravures Filips Galle épouse en 1598 une fille de Moretus, Catherine. Il réalise avec les autres artistes de son atelier les gravures des éditions de Moretus. Galle retouche les gravures, les imprime et les signe. Cette collaboration entre l’Officina Plantiniana et l’atelier de gravure de Theodore Galle et ses descendants va perdurer pratiquement jusqu’à la fin du 17e siècle.
 

Éditions de Jan I Moretus 

640 éditions en 20 ans

En 20 ans à la tête de l’Officina Plantiniana, Jan I Moretus publie 640 éditions, sans compter les publications publiques. 

Les éditions de Jan I Moretus et celles de ses successeurs concernent surtout des sujets ‘sérieux’, pour la plupart écrits en latin. La moitié de ses éditions sont de nature religieuse. Les ouvrages liturgiques et les missels représentent un cinquième de son fonds de commerce.

La large diffusion de ces ouvrages, leur réputation et la spécialisation à terme de l’Officina Plantiniana dans les ouvrages purement liturgiques ont valu à Jan Moretus une réputation pour ce type d’ouvrages, ce qui n’est pas lui rendre justice. 

Ses activités couvraient en effet aussi l’histoire, l’humanisme et les auteurs classiques. L’histoire cléricale en douze volumes du cardinal Caesar Baronius, les Annales ecclesiastici, constitue par exemple un des grands succès d’édition de l’imprimerie plantinienne. 
 

Justus Lipsius

Justus Lipsius est le plus célèbre humaniste des Pays-Bas à la seconde moitié du 16e siècle. Il revient de Leyde en 1592 et devient professeur d’histoire à l’université de Louvain. Jan Moretus imprime au total 62 ouvrages de Justus Lipsius, devenant ainsi son imprimeur attitré. Outre ses publications d’auteurs romains comme Tacite et Sénèque sur toutes les facettes de l’histoire de Rome, Moretus exerce une grande influence à travers les ouvrages philosophiques et politiques qu’il publie.
 

Décès de Jan I Moretus

Jan I Moretus meurt le 22 septembre 1610.

Dans les mois précédant son décès, Jan Moretus écrit avec feu qu’il se sent en fait bien mieux depuis qu’il a jeté tous les remèdes et ordonnances des médecins. Cela ne suffira pas. Il décède le 22 septembre 1610 et est inhumé à la cathédrale Notre-Dame. 

Pour éviter les conflits de succession, Jan I Moretus et son épouse Martine stipulent dans leur testament que l’Officina Plantiniana doit rester entière dans toutes circonstances. Ses fils Jan II et Balthasar I vont donc diriger ensemble la maison d’éditions plantinienne. 
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco