Tyndale’s Testament

The pivotal figure in the preparation of the first English Bible translation in print was William Tyndale. His achievement helped unite the English people.

England flourished brilliantly under the Tudors, but it was also a time of religious tensions. During the reign of Henry VIII, the first Protestant Bibles in English helped ensure unity in the kingdom.
 

A new standard for modern English

The pivotal figure in the publication of the first English translation of the Bible, the so-called Coverdale Bible of 1535, was William Tyndale. In slightly modified form, readings from this Bible were used in all English churches from 1539. In this way, it formed the basis for a new standard for modern English. Moreover, Bible commentaries contributed to individual articulacy and awareness. In this way, the modern nation emerged. Parliamentary England became the ‘mother of modern democracy’.
 

Antwerp’s openness

Tyndale worked in Antwerp between 1526 and 1538, having been forced to flee Cologne. Antwerp’s openness thus contributed to the formation of the English nation.
 

Persecuted

Here too, though, Tyndale was not safe. He was captured by the troops of Charles V, condemned as a heretic in September 1536, and strangled and burned. In a letter written from prison in Vilvoorde, he asked for warmer clothes, but especially for his Hebrew Bible.
 

Exhibition 

The exhibition displayed this letter. It also took a comprehensive look at a number of precious English Bibles, including some unique examples, and at the work of Tyndale. In addition, it focused on the world of Antwerp’s Bible printers in the mid-16th century.
 

03.09.2002 – 01.12.2002
 

 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Tyndale’s Testament

William Tyndale fut une figure-clé dans la préparation de la première traduction anglaise de la Bible, une initiative fédératrice pour le peuple anglais.

L’Angleterre des Tudor était une époque à la fois florissante et marquée par les conflits religieux. Les premières bibles protestantes en anglais imprimées sous le règne d’Henri VIII contribuèrent à l’unité du royaume.
 

Une norme pour l’anglais moderne

William Tyndale fut une figure-clé dans la préparation de la première traduction anglaise de la Bible, la Bible Coverdale. Imprimée en 1535, cette bible fut lue sous forme légèrement modifiée dans toutes les églises d’Angleterre à partir de 1539. Elle constitue donc la norme de base pour la langue anglaise. L’opinion personnelle était encouragée à s’exprimer à travers les exégèses bibliques, une opinion qui forma la base de la nation moderne. L’Angleterre parlementaire se profila ainsi comme ‘la mère de la démocratie moderne’.
 

Ouverture d’esprit d’Anvers

Tyndale travailla à Anvers entre 1526 et 1538 car il avait dû fuir Cologne. L’ouverture d’esprit d’Anvers contribua donc à la formation de la nation anglaise.
 

Percécuté

Mais le danger rôdait ici aussi pour Tyndale. Les troupes de Charles Quint le condamnèrent pour hérésie en septembre 1536. Il fut étranglé et brûlé sur le bûcher. De sa cellule à la prison de Vilvoorde, il réclamait des vêtements chauds mais surtout sa bible en hébreu.
 

Exposition

Cette lettre était montrée à l’exposition aux côtés de quelques bibles très précieuses donc des exemplaires uniques et du travail de Tyndale. L’exposition s’intéressait aussi à l’univers des imprimeurs anversois de bibles vers le milieu du 16e siècle.
 

03.09.2002 – 01.12.2002
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco