SHARP Conference “Religions of the Book”

The annual conference of the Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing (SHARP) was held in Antwerp in September 2014. The Museum Plantin-Moretus was closely involved as a partner in organising this major conference on book history.

SHARP Conference 'Religions of the Book', Antwerp, 17-20 September 2014

The annual conference of the Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing (SHARP) was held in Antwerp in September 2014. The Plantin-Moretus Museum was closely involved as a partner in organising this major conference on book history. Nearly 250 speakers from 29 different countries spoke on the topic of ‘religions of the book’. Seven speakers presented their research based on the Plantin archive, including curator Dirk Imhof, and there was even an entire session devoted to the theme ‘Plantin and Religion’. On Saturday 20 September, the conference was closed in style by the participants with a Closing Reception at the Museum Plantin-Moretus.
 

Summer school

Just before the conference, the Museum organised the ‘Antwerp Summer School: Books and Culture - Religions of the Book’ together with other partners from Antwerp. The second day of the Summer School took place entirely in the Museum Plantin-Moretus. The 25 or so participants heard lectures by Dr Karen Bowen on ‘The illustration of religious texts at the Plantin-Moretus Press’ and Dr Dirk Imhof on ‘The Plantin Press: the case of Johannes David’. François Gyselinck gave printing and letter casting demonstrations. The programme also included a guided tour of the exhibition on the Biblia regia of Balthasar Moretus.

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

SHARP Conference “Religions of the Book”

Le congrès annuel de la Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing (SHARP) s’est tenu en septembre 2014 à Anvers. Partenaire de l’évènement, le musée Plantin-Moretus a contribué activement à l’organisation de ce grand congrès sur l’histoire du livre.

SHARP Conférence “Religions of the Book”, Anvers, 17-20 septembre 2014

Le congrès annuel de la Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing (SHARP) s’est tenu en septembre 2014 à Anvers. Partenaire de l’évènement, le musée Plantin-Moretus a contribué activement à l’organisation de ce grand congrès sur l’histoire du livre. Près de 250 orateurs de 29 pays ont pris la parole sur le thème des ‘religions du livre’. Sept d’entre eux ont présenté leurs travaux de recherche sur base des archives plantiniennes, dont le conservateur Dirk Imhof. Une session entière était même consacrée à Plantin et la religion. Le congrès s’est clôturé le samedi 20 septembre avec une réception au musée Plantin-Moretus.
 

Summer School

Avant le congrès, le musée avait organisé avec divers partenaires anversois la Antwerp Summer School : Books and Culture - Religions of the Book. La deuxième journée de cette université d’été s’est déroulée entièrement au musée Plantin-Moretus. Les quelque 25 participants ont assisté à des conférences de Karen Bowen sur l’illustration des textes religieux dans les presses Plantin-Moretus et de Dirk Imhof sur la presse plantinienne et le cas de Johannes David. François Gyselinck a donné à cette occasion des démonstrations d’impression et de fonde de caractères. Une visite guidée de l’exposition sur la Biblia regia de Balthasar Moretus était également au programme.
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco