Rubens 2004

A love of books: Rubens and his library

Like his art collection, Rubens’ library reflected his personality. He read artists’ biographies and studied atlases, books on language and the fledgling science of archaeology, preferably in Latin. Rubens’ library was one of the largest in Antwerp. The selection shown in Rubens 2004 had never previously been exhibited.

Mirror of the personality

Like his art collection, Rubens’ library reflected his personality. He read artists’ biographies and studied atlases, books on language and the fledgling science of archaeology, preferably in Latin. Rubens’ library was one of the largest in Antwerp and the Southern Netherlands. The selection shown in the exhibition had never previously been on display.
 

An exceptional book collection

Rubens’ collection far exceeded those of contemporary artists such as Velazquez or Rembrandt. Rubens was a family friend and working partner to the printer Balthasar I Moretus. He was therefore close to the source of many of the publications in the library. After Rubens’ death in 1640, his library was bequeathed to his son Albert. After his death, the library, together with the books acquired by Albert, was auctioned off in Brussels in 1658. As a result, the collection was not preserved intact.
 

Reconstruction

The Antwerp librarian Prosper Arents (1889-1984) collected material for decades to reconstruct the ‘Rubens Library’. His research was made ready for publication by a working group of the Association of Antwerp Bibliophiles and published as a double edition of its yearbook, De Gulden Passer (2000-2001).
 
09.03.2004 – 13.06.2004
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Rubens 2004

L’amour des livres de Rubens et sa bibliothèque

La bibliothèque de Rubens reflétait tout autant sa personnalité que sa collection d’art. Le peintre baroque lisait des biographies d’artistes, consultait des atlas, étudiait des ouvrages de linguistique et d’archéologie, une discipline nouvelle à l’époque, et le tout de préférence en latin. La bibliothèque de Rubens était une des plus riches d’Anvers. Les pièces sélectionnées pour Rubens 2004 n’avaient jamais été exposées auparavant.

La bibliothèque de Rubens reflétait tout autant sa personnalité que sa collection d’art. Le peintre baroque lisait des biographies d’artistes, consultait des atlas, étudiait des ouvrages de linguistique et d’archéologie, une discipline nouvelle à l’époque, et le tout de préférence en latin. La bibliothèque de Rubens était une des plus riches d’Anvers des Pays-Bas méridionaux. Les pièces sélectionnées pour Rubens 2004 n’avaient jamais été exposées auparavant.
 

Une collection exceptionnelle

La collection de livres de Rubens dépassait largement celle d’artistes contemporains comme Velázquez ou Rembrandt. Rubens était un ami intime et un partenaire professionnel de l’imprimeur Balthasar I Moretus. Il était donc à la source pour la plupart des publications importantes de son époque. Au décès de Rubens en 1640, sa bibliothèque revint intégralement en héritage à son fils, mais après le décès de celui-ci, la bibliothèque, alors encore étoffée par les acquisitions d’Albert, fut vendue aux enchères à Bruxelles en 1658 et fut ainsi dispersée.
 

Reconstruction

Le bibliothécaire anversois Prosper Arents (1889-1984) rassembla pendant des décennies des volumes pour reconstituer la bibliothèque de Rubens. Ses recherches furent rédigées par un groupe de travail de l’association des bibliophiles anversois et publiées dans ses annales De Gulden Passer de 2000-2001.
 

09.03.2004 – 13.06.2004
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco