Baroque Book Design

A tale of friendship and cooperation

The exhibition reveals publishers' love for their trade, and how they have motivated artists, printers and designers in the past and present to create top-quality products.

The baroque book: a happy joint creation of Balthasar Moretus and Peter Paul Rubens

The sixteenth century saw the emergence of many new types of book. This was due in large part to publishers such as the Plantin-Moretus family. They sought ways of recording and arranging new knowledge and ideas on paper.  They thought about how texts could be typeset more effectively, the relationship between image and text, what a title page is and other questions. This was how the book originated largely in the form that we know it today.

Balthasar I Moretus took the next major step in the development of book architecture: he started using leading artists for book design. For instance, he commissioned Peter Paul Rubens to provide the illustrations for his new prayer books. And the likes of Erasmus Quellinus, Karel de Mallery, Peeter de Jode and Abraham Van Diepenbeeck also supplied Balthasar Moretus with designs for title pages and illustrations.

The contemporary publisher as artistic director

Today, publishers continue to orchestrate the overhauling of book architecture. In this exhibition, the Plantin-Moretus Museum reveals the similarities between Balthasar Moretus’ approach and a contemporary publishing project. We discover how a leading contemporary publisher looks at the book and collaborates with artists to continuously reinvent it.

A tale of friendship and cooperation

The exhibition reveals publishers’ love for their trade, and how they have motivated artists, printers and designers in the past and present to create top-quality products. With a lecture series, workshops, and collection and workshop visits, the museum conveys this passion to its visitors. During Kunstendag voor Kinderen (Art Day for Children) and Dag van de wetenschap (Science Day), we invite designers and printers to work with the public.

Individual tickets
Guided tours

Antwerp Baroque 2018

Antwerp is the most distinctive Baroque city of the Low Countries. During Antwerp Baroque 2018 the city pulls out all the stops with a daring and lavish programme in which old Baroque rubs shoulders with new Baroque.

The cultural city festival 'Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires' tells a story about baroque, in the past and the present, and creates a dialogue between historic baroque and the work of contemporary artists, with the city and the world as the décor.

‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’ is a key event in VisitFlanders' Flemish Masters programme. It promises to be explicitly extroverted and to combine artistic originality with authentic hospitality. 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Baroque Book Design

Une histoire d'amitié et de collaboration

L'exposition célèbre l'amour pour le métier d'éditeur. Ou comment l'artiste, l'imprimeur et le concepteur d'hier et d'aujourd'hui stimulent la création d'un produit hors pair.

Le livre baroque, une cocréation réussie de Balthasar Moretus et Peter Paul Rubens

Le 16e siècle a vu naître de nombreux livres d’un genre nouveau grâce essentiellement aux éditeurs comme ceux de la famille Plantin-Moretus. Ils n’avaient de cesse de présenter et d’ordonnancer différemment les nouvelles connaissances et les nouvelles idées de l’époque. Ils réfléchissaient à la meilleure façon de présenter un texte, d’améliorer l’équilibre entre le texte et l’illustration, de réinventer la page de titre... C’est ainsi qu’est né le livre tel qu’il existe encore grosso modo aujourd’hui.

Balthasar I Moretus a fait considérablement évoluer l’architecture livresque en impliquant les plus grands artistes de son temps dans la conception des livres. Il a par exemple confié à Peter Paul Rubens les illustrations de son nouveau livre de prières. Erasmus Quellinus, Karel de Mallery, Peeter de Jode et Abraham Van Diepenbeeck ont eux aussi conçu des pages de titres et des illustrations pour Balthasar Moretus.

L’éditeur actuel, metteur en scène 

Aujourd’hui encore, l’éditeur joue le rôle de metteur en scène dans le renouvellement de l’architecture livresque. L’exposition du Musée Plantin-Moretus explique les ressemblances entre la façon d’opérer de Balthasar Moretus et celle de l’éditeur contemporain. Le regard que jette un éditeur contemporain de premier plan sur le livre pour réinventer sans cesse le livre en collaboration avec les artistes. 

Une histoire d’amitié et de collaboration

L’exposition met en scène l’amour pour le métier d’éditeur et explique comment il s’y prend pour encourager l’artiste, l’imprimeur et le concepteur d’hier et d’aujourd’hui à créer un produit hors pair. Le musée essaie de transmettre cette passion aux visiteurs en organisant des lectures, des ateliers, des visites de collection et des ateliers. Le Kunstendag voor Kinderen (Journée de l’Art pour Enfants) et le Dag van de wetenschap (Journée des Sciences) sont l’occasion d’inviter concepteurs et imprimeurs à se retrousser les manches avec le public.

Billet individuel
Visite guidée

Antwerp Baroque 2018

Anvers est une ville baroque. C’est sans aucun doute la ville la plus résolument baroque de nos contrées. Pour Antwerp Baroque 2018, la ville crée l’événement avec un programme audacieux et abondant, qui crée un choc bouillonnant entre le baroque d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Le festival culturel 'Antwerp Baroque 2018.Rubens inspires' met en lumière le baroque d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, confronte le baroque historique à l’art contemporain. Avec en toile de fond la ville d’Anvers et le monde entier.

Le festival ‘Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires’, événement-phare organisé par Toerisme Vlaanderen dans le cadre du programme ‘grands Maîtres Flamands’, se veut résolument extraverti. Il associe obstination artistique et hospitalité authentique. 

 

 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco