Balthasar I Moretus

Balthasar I Moretus cultivated close ties with Spain. As a result, the Officina Plantiniana’s export business to Spain and its overseas territories flourished once again. His luxury editions commanded respect throughout Europe.

After the death of Jan I Moretus in 1610, control of the Officina Plantiniana passed to his sons, Jan II and Balthasar I Moretus, who had to run the business together as a single entity.
 

The premature death of Jan II Moretus (1576 - 1618)

Jan II and Balthasar I Moretus divided the running of the Officina Plantiniana between them. Jan II took care of the bookshop, while Balthasar I was responsible for the contacts with authors and the editing of the texts. Jan II died young in 1618, leaving Balthasar I Moretus to continue the business on his own.
 

Balthasar I Moretus (1574 - 1641)

Balthasar I Moretus remained in charge of the Officina Plantiniana until his death in 1641. His luxury editions made an impression throughout Europe. Thanks to Philippus de Peralta, an influential Spanish Jesuit, the Moretuses again secured large contracts to supply Spain and the Spanish colonies. Other works such as historical and neo-Latin publications also still accounted for a large proportion of the output of Balthasar I Moretus.
 

Collaboration with Rubens

Since his early years in Latin school, Balthasar had been a close friend of Peter Paul Rubens. The painter designed book illustrations and provided portraits of the family’s parents, grandparents and best friends. These still adorn the walls of the ‘grand salon’. Balthasar I Moretus converted the house into a beautiful mansion.
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Unesco werelderfgoed

Balthasar I Moretus

Balthasar I Moretus noue des liens étroits avec l’Espagne, ce qui relance l’exportation de produits de l’Officina Plantiana dans la Péninsule ibérique et ses territoires d’outre-mer. Ses luxueuses éditions font impression dans toute l’Europe.

A la mort de Jan I Moretus en 1610, l’Officina Plantiniana passe aux mains de ses fils Jan II et Balthasar I Moretus, qui doivent diriger ensemble l’entreprise sans la morceler. 
 

Mort prématurée de Jan II Moretus (1576-1618)

Jan II et Balthasar I Moretus dirigent ensemble l’Officina Plantiniana. Jan II se charge de la librairie, Balthasar I des contacts avec les auteurs et de la rédaction des textes. Jan II meurt prématurément en 1618. Balthasar I Moretus est maintenant seul à la tête de l’entreprise. 
 

Balthasar I Moretus (1574-1641)

Balthasar I Moretus reste le maître de l’Officina Plantiniana jusqu’à sa mort en 1641. Ses luxueuses éditions font grande impression dans toute l’Europe. Grâce à Philippus de Peralta, un influent Jésuite espagnol, les Moretus regagnent de grands contrats en Espagne et ses colonies. D’autres ouvrages comme des éditions historiques et néolatines constituent un autre grand volet du fonds de commerce de Balthasar I Moretus.
 

Collaboration avec Rubens

Balthasar est lié d’amitié avec Pierre Paul Rubens depuis ses premières années à l’école latine. Le peintre conçoit des illustrations de livres et peint des portraits des parents, grands-parents et intimes de la famille. Ces tableaux ornent encore les murs du grand salon. C’est Balthasar I Moretus qui transforme la maison en magnifique maison patricienne. 
 

Museum Plantin-Moretus
Patrimoine mondial de l’unesco